Rest.

May 27, 2012 § 2 Comments

“The world rests in the night. Trees, mountains, fields, and faces are released from the prison of shape and the burden of exposure. Each thing creeps back into its own nature within the shelter of the dark. Darkness is the ancient womb. Nighttime is womb- time. Our souls come out to play. The darkness absolves everything; the struggle for identity and impression falls away. We rest in the night.” – John O’Donahue, “Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom”.

* * *

Evening Sky Reflects East Gallatin River

http://www.bozemandailychronicle.com/gallery/

* * *

“Something amazing happens when the rest of the world is sleeping. I am glued to my chair. I forget that I ever wanted to do anything but write. The crowded city, the crowded apartment, and the crowded calendar suddenly seem spacious. Three or four hours pass in a moment; I have no idea what time it is, because I never check the clock. If I chose to listen, I could hear the swish of taxis bound for downtown bars or the soft saxophone riffs that drift from a neighbor’s window, but nothing gets through. I am suspended in a sensory deprivation tank, and the very lack of sensation is delicious.” – Anne Fadiman

* * *

Dramatic evening sky

http://mountaindreamers.blogspot.com/2011_07_01_archive.html

* * *

“I like the stars. It’s the illusion of permanence, I think. I mean, they’re always flaring up and caving in and going out. But from here, I can pretend…I can pretend that things last. I can pretend that lives last longer than moments….Worlds don’t last; and stars and galaxies are transient, fleeting things that twinkle like fireflies and vanish into cold and dust. But I can pretend…”  – Neil Gaiman

* * *

Spruce Knob Night Sky

http://www.janniefunster.com/2011/10/04/while-youre-in-a-poetry-mood/

* * *
“The spaces between stars are where the work of the universe is done.” – Ivan Doig, “The House of Sky; Landscapes of a Western Mind”.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Rest.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rest. at SouthwestDesertLover.

meta

