Books.

December 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

“There are books which we read early in life, which sink into our consciousness and seem to disappear without leaving a trace. And then one day we find, in some summing-up of our life and put attitudes towards experience, that their influence has been enormous.” – Anais Nin

* * *

Mt. Tipton Wilderness

Mt. Tipton Wilderness

* * *

“Plant trees. They give us two of the most crucial elements for our survival: oxygen and books.” – Whitney Brown

* * *

Mount Tipton Wilderness, near Kingman

Mount Tipton Wilderness, near Kingman

* * *

“I had lines inside me, a string of guiding lights. I had language. Fiction and poetry are doses, medicines. What they heal is the rupture reality makes on the imagination. I had been damaged, and a very important part of me had been destroyed – that was my reality, the facts of my life. But on the other side of the facts was who I could be, how I could feel. And as long as I had words for that, images for that, stories for that, then I wasn’t lost.” – Jeanette Winterson

* * *

Mount Tipton Wilderness

Mount Tipton Wilderness

* * *

“All the old houses that I knew when I was a child were full of books, bought generation after generation by members of the family. Everyone was literate as a matter of course. Nobody told you to read this or not to read that. It was there to read, and we read.” – Katherine Ann Porter

* * *

 

 31,000-acre Mt. Tipton Wilderness

31,000-acre Mt. Tipton Wilderness

* * *

“Give me a house furnished with books rather than furniture! Both, if you can, but books at any rate!” – Horace Mann

* * *

Mount Tipton from the west

Mount Tipton from the west

* * *

For books are not absolutely dead things, but do contain a potency of life in them to be as active as that soul was whose progeny they are; nay, they do preserve as in a vial the purest efficacy and extraction of that living intellect that bred them.” – John Milton

* * *

 

 

 

 

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Books. at SouthwestDesertLover.

meta

