Snow.

December 15, 2012 § Leave a comment

“Outside, the sky was clear, stars gleaming in its ebony vastness like celestial fireflies. It was bitterly cold, and Hywel’s every breath trailed after him in pale puffs of smoke. The glazed snow crackled underfoot as he started towards the great hall.” – Sharon Kay Penman

 

* * *

Beirdneau Peak

Beirdneau Peak, Utah

Elevation: 8914 ft / 2717 m

* * *

“Snow falling soundlessly in the middle of the night will always fill my heart with sweet clarity” – Novala Takemoto

* * *

Beirdneau Peak

Beirdneau Peak

* * *

“I love snow for the same reason I love Christmas: It brings people together while time stands still. Cozy couples lazily meandered the streets and children trudged sleds and chased snowballs. No one seemed to be in a rush to experience anything other than the glory of the day, with each other, whenever and however it happened” – Rachel Cohn

 

* * *

Beirdneau Summit on snowshoes

Beirdneau Summit on snowshoes

* * *

“In my own worst seasons I’ve come back from the colorless world of despair by forcing myself to look hard, for a long time, at a single glorious thing: a flame of red geranium outside my bedroom window. And then another: my daughter in a yellow dress. And another: the perfect outline of a full, dark sphere behind the crescent moon. Until I learned to be in love with my life again. Like a stroke victim retraining new parts of the brain to grasp lost skills, I have taught myself joy, over and over again..” – Barbara Kingsolver

* * *

 

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Snow. at SouthwestDesertLover.

meta

