Feast.

February 21, 2013 § Leave a comment

“…but I still think that one of the pleasantest of all emotions is to know that I, I with my brain and my hands, have nourished my beloved few, that I have concocted a stew or a story, a rarity or a plain dish, to sustain them truly against the hungers of the world.” – M.F.K Fisher

 

* * *

Cedar Breaks National Monument

Cedar Breaks National Monument

http://littourati.squarespace.com/main_page/2011/4/22/blue-highways-cedar-breaks-national-monument-utah.html

* * *

“It took me several years of such periods of being alone to learn how to care for myself, at least at table. I came to believe that since nobody else dared feed me as I wished to be fed, I must do it myself, and with as much aplomb as I could muster. Enough of hit-and-miss suppers of tinned soup and boxed biscuits and an occasional egg just because I had failed once more to rate an invitation!” – M.F.K. Fisher

* * *

Cedar Breaks

Cedar Breaks

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/3186066

* * *

“But if I must be alone, I refuse to be alone as if it were something weak and distasteful, like convalescence.” – M.F.K. Fisher

* * *

Marmot at Cedar Breaks

Marmot at Cedar Breaks

http://www.flickriver.com/photos/robroy/sets/72157631257446558/

* * *

“I think that when two people are able to weave that kind of invisible thread of understanding and sympathy between each other, that delicate web, they should not risk tearing it. It is too rare, and it lasts too short a time at best….” – M.F.K. Fisher

* * *

Cedar Breaks

Cedar Breaks

http://forums.mtbr.com/photography-mountain-bikers/photography-thread-709713-7.html

* * *

“It seems to me that our three basic needs, for food and security and love, are so mixed and mingled and entwined that we cannot straightly think of one without the others. So it happens that when I write of hunger, I am really writing about love and the hunger for it, and warmth and the love of it and the hunger for it… and then the warmth and richness and fine reality of hunger satisfied… and it is all one.” – M.F.K. Fisher

* * *

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Feast. at SouthwestDesertLover.

meta

