Rain II.

June 12, 2013 § 2 Comments

“Rain clouds come floating in, not to muddy my days ahead, but to make me calm, happy and hopeful.” – rajuda

 

* * *

Summer monsoon AZ

Summer monsoon AZ

http://geography.arizona.edu/

* * *

“Heaven knows we need never be ashamed of our tears, for they are rain upon the blinding dust of earth, overlaying our hard hearts.” – Charles Dickens

* * *

Lightning GC

Lightning GC

http://adamschallau.photoshelter.com/image/I0000EHdrXFr.b5A

** *

“Or I would be the rain itself, wreathing over the island, mingling in the quiet of moist places, filling its pores with its saturated breaths. And I would be the wind, whispering through the tangled woods, running airy fingers over the island’s face, tingling in the chill of concealed places, sighing secrets in the dawn. And I would be the light, flinging over the island, covering it with flash and shadow, shining on rocks and pools, softening to a touch in the glow of dusk. If I were the rain and wind and light, I would encircle the island like the sky surrounding earth, flood through it like a heart driven pulse, shine from inside it like a star in flames, burn away to blackness in the closed eyes of its night. There are so many ways I could love this island, if I were the rain.” – Richard Nelson

* * *

 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Rain II.

  • I just love watching storms – but ideally not from inside a tent!

    • southwestdesertlover says:

      Hi Chrissie – those thunderstorms that rattle windows make quite the racket inside a tent. Wyatt Earp isn’t afraid of thunder but my last three Boxers were terrified as a storm approached. Big virtual hug and chop kisses to Dixie and Tilly!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rain II. at SouthwestDesertLover.

meta

