fidelity.

February 15, 2014 § Leave a comment

“I was just passing through and stayed, as if under a spell. They fall to the seduction of synchronicity and believe it was all meant to be.  And it was, of course.

Something here doesn’t like small talk. Like an old, practiced shaman, this arid land exposes secrets…” – Cindy Bellinger

* * *

Rio Grande Del Norte National Conservation Area

Rio Grande Del Norte National Conservation Area

http://www.nmwild.org/2010/news/congressman-lujan-introduces-bill-to-protect-rio-grande-del-norte/

* * *

“…Like rocks falling from a canyon wall, everything came loose. My marriage ended, and I tumbled, losing one house, two houses, friend after friend, job after job….even all of my money once or twice.

For years, I slipped and fell, became raw and exposed. People wondered why I stayed. Yet something called. Even from my own ruins, I could see shimmering sky and birds migrating. I began finding fossils , the crusts of other people’s stories, just as vulnerable as I but lasting.  Solace finally rose from the sandstone ledges where the gnarled, stunted pinons grew, and I did leave in my own way. I went inward.” – Cindy Bellinger

* * *

Gold Hill NM

Gold Hill NM

http://peakery.com/gold-hill-new-mexico/

* * *

“Alone,I moved into a little cabin in the heart of the forest.  From the moment I set foot among the ponderosas, I was snagged by something more than the spiderwebs dangling between the trees.  It called, and I heard: Come this way, just a little further, just a little further….I began cutting trails in the forest behind my house, always needing to go deeper and deeper into the trees.

A voice rises form the land, though it is nothing that you can hear.  The day I feel ready for  a change, a branch breaks off before my eyes. The day I need laughter, a raven hops from treetop to treetop, taunting me on my way down the mountain.  Think something, and it will happen. Always, the timing is perfect. Just what you need, if you have the eye to catch it.  That is the enchantment, the magic.” – Cindy Bellinger

* * *

Gold Hill Trail, Wheeler Peak Wildernes

Gold Hill Trail, Wheeler Peak Wildernes

http://www.northamericanparks.com/northern_new_mexico4.asp

* * *

“This land requires yoou to withstand – externally and internally, rockslides, searing heat, blizzards and drenching rains. If you don’t turn away, but toward the sun the land finds a way in.  It seeps under your skin, coursing through your veins like footsteps following old mountain trails.  Before you know it, the land settles on your face.  And you know you’re home.” –  Cindy Bellinger

* * *

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading fidelity. at SouthwestDesertLover.

meta

