silence.

March 12, 2014 § Leave a comment

“And never let them tell you
that silence, isn’t beautiful.
For silence is what happens
when words fall asleep
and you must carry the belief
that one day they will
wake up inside of you.”  – Christopher Poindexter

 

* * *

Green River

Green River

http://lozar.info/

* * *

“Silent solitude makes true speech possible and personal. If I am not in touch with my own belovedness, then I cannot touch the sacredness of others. If I am estranged from myself, I am likewise a stranger to others.”  – Brennan Manning

* * *

Green River

Green River

http://www.biggamehunt.net/blogs/western-hunter/utah-deer-hunting-northeastern-region

* * *

“Last night as I was sleeping,
I dreamt—marvelous error!—
that I had a beehive
here inside my heart.
And the golden bees
were making white combs
and sweet honey
from my old failures”  – Antonio Machado

* * *

Green River

Green River

http://www.green-river-utah.com/

* * *

“I have always loved the desert. One sits down on a desert sand dune, sees nothing, hears nothing. Yet through the silence something throbs, and gleams…”  – Antoine de Saint-Exupery

* * *

I70 at San Rafael Swell

I70 at San Rafael Swell

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interstate_70_in_Utah

* * *

“Perhaps the most important thing we bring to another person is the silence in us, not the sort of silence that is filled with unspoken criticism or hard withdrawal. The sort of silence that is a place of refuge, of rest, of acceptance of someone as they are. We are all hungry for this other silence. It is hard to find. In its presence we can remember something beyond the moment, a strength on which to build a life. Silence is a place of great power and healing.”  – Rachel Naomi Remen

* * *

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading silence. at SouthwestDesertLover.

meta

